PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN

The two-chamber Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the supreme representative body of the Republic, carrying out legislative functions. The organization and activity of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan and legal status of its parliamentarians are determined by the Constitution, Constitutional Law “Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan and status of its parliamentarians” and other legislative acts. The powers of the Parliament begin with the opening of its first session and end with the beginning of the first session of the newly-elected Parliament.

The Parliament consists of two Chambers: Senate and Mazhilis acting on a constant basis.

1

Senate

The Senate consists of the members elected as follows: two persons from each region, cities of the republican significance and capital of the Republic of Kazakhstan at a joint meeting of the MPs of all representative bodies representing a oblast, city of the republican significance and capital of the Republic correspondingly. The term of powers of the Senate members is six years.

The Chairperson leading the Chamber is elected by the Senate among the members by the secret ballot by a majority vote out of the total number of members of the Chamber. The candidacy for the Chairperson of the Senate is nominated by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Official web page: http://www.parlam.kz/en/senate

Mazhilis

Mazhilis consists of one hundred and seven members. 98 members are elected through the secret ballot on the basis of party lists of single nationwide electoral districts under a system of the universal, equal and direct voting right. The term of powers of the Mazhilis members is five years.

The Chairperson leading the Chamber is elected by the Mazhilis among the  members by the secret ballot by a majority vote out of the total number of members of the Chamber. The candidacy for the Chairperson of the Mazhilis is nominated by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Official web page: http://www.parlam.kz/en/mazhilis

ПАРЛАМЕНТ РЕСПУБЛИКИ КАЗАХСТАН

Двухпалатный Парламент Республики Казахстан является высшим представительным органом Республики, осуществляющим законодательную власть. Организация и деятельность Парламента Республики Казахстан, правовое положение его депутатов определены Конституцией, Конституционным Законом «О Парламенте Республики Казахстан и статусе его депутатов» и другими законодательными актами. Полномочия Парламента начинаются с момента открытия его первой сессии и заканчиваются с началом работы первой сессии Парламента нового созыва.

Парламент состоит из двух Палат: Сената и Мажилиса, действующих на постоянной основе.

1

Сенат

Сенат образуют депутаты, избираемые по два человека от каждой области, города республиканского значения и столицы Республики Казахстан на совместном заседании депутатов всех представительных органов соответственно области, города республиканского значения и столицы Республики. Срок полномочий депутатов Сената – шесть лет.

Палату возглавляет Председатель, избираемый Сенатом из числа депутатов, тайным голосованием большинством голосов от общего числа депутатов Палаты. Кандидатура на должность Председателя Сената выдвигается Президентом Республики Казахстан.

Официальный веб-ресурс: http://www.parlam.kz/ru/senate

Мажилис

Мажилис состоит из ста семи депутатов. Девяносто восемь депутатов Мажилиса избираются от политических партий по партийным спискам по единому общенациональному округу на основе всеобщего, равного и прямого избирательного права, тайным голосованием. Девять депутатов Мажилиса избираются Ассамблеей народа Казахстана. Очередные выборы депутатов Мажилиса проводятся не позднее чем за два месяца до окончания срока полномочий действующего созыва Парламента. Срок полномочий депутатов Мажилиса – пять лет.

Палату возглавляет Председатель, избираемый Мажилисом из числа депутатов, тайным голосованием большинством голосов от общего числа депутатов Палат. Кандидатуры на должность Председателя Мажилиса выдвигаются депутатами Палаты.

Официальный веб-ресурс: http://www.parlam.kz/ru/mazhilis